Skip to main content
General & Seasonal NewsNews

The Haven’s Anne Gachango has been named one of the South West’s health and care heroes honoured in NHS Parliamentary Awards 2022

By 14th June 2022No Comments
Picture of Anne Gachango

The NHS in the South West has recognised the tireless commitment and compassion of health and care teams who were nominated by their MPs for the 2022 NHS Parliamentary Awards.

Winners have been chosen in 10 categories, ranging from NHS Rising Star to Excellence in Urgent and Emergency Care. This year also saw a new category introduced, reflecting the response to Covid-19.

Anne, who is the regional winner of the Excellence in Primary Care and Community Care Award: Anne, is the lead for The Haven, was nominated by Karin Smyth MP and Darren Jones MP

The judges comments were: “This is an excellent example of how to rapidly mobilise a response across healthcare, social care and third sector organisations to deliver services that meet a vulnerable group’s healthcare needs. They used a patient-centred approach to ensure that all felt in control of their physical and mental health needs.

“They have demonstrated adaptability and sustainability by transitioning the start-up project into a rolling support programme, and are now supporting Ukrainian refugees.”

Sirona’s acting Chief Executive Julie Sharma said: “This is a phenomenal achievement and so massively deserved and I have been privileged to see first hand the fantastic work Anne and the team are doing both in delivering services but also acting as true ambassadors for people who are extremely vulnerable and traumatised. A huge congratulations to Anne and her fantastic team – this is so well deserved.”

Anne is one of 10 regional award winners and the full list can be found here.

Elizabeth O’Mahony, Regional Director of NHS England and NHS Improvement in the South West region, said: “I’m delighted to see our dedicated staff across the South West recognised in this way.

“Their tireless commitment and care, not only through the course of the pandemic but for many their whole careers, is truly inspiring and heart-warming.

“I’d like to congratulate every single one of the winners, and to thank all the MPs for putting forward such strong candidates.”

The South West winners and their nominating MPs now go forward to the national awards ceremony in London on 6 July.