Skip to main content
General & Seasonal News

Sirona Awards for Excellence 2019

By 7th October 2019No Comments

Support workers and clinicians providing services across parts of Bristol, South Gloucestershire and Bath and North East Somerset scooped trophies in the Sirona Annual Awards for Excellence 2019.

A record number of nominations – nearly 300 – were received for this year’s awards which are held annually to mark Sirona’s foundation as a not-for-profit social enterprise.

Many are received from the public with Ruth Grindrod from Sirona’s Extra Care facility, St John’s Court in Bath winning the “I think they deserve it” award. She was alikened to a real life “Mary Poppins” always coming up with good ideas to make life easier, fun and homely for tenants.

And the Family Nurse Partnership scooped the second award in this category after being praised by Bristol City Council for its partnership working and making a difference to children and their teenage parents which won one of the two I Think They Deserve It Awards.

The nomination said: “The FNP has worked with us across a number of different agencies, such as housing and education, in order to help us identify the barriers facing their clients. In doing so they have helped city agencies become more accessible to vulnerable populations and have improved overall outcomes. Notably, they do all of this work with a smile, and are a consistently positive presence within the city.”

The event at the Bristol and Bath Science Park also saw a hat-trick for the Yate teams with the town’s Minor Injuries Unit, Emergency Nurse Practitioner Elizabeth Hooper and  ward clerk Donna Walker all winning awards.

Bristol Community Health’s Operations Service Manager Debbie Clark won the Community Children’s Health Partnership Award; CCHP services are provided in partnership by Sirona working with BCH and Avon and Wiltshire Mental Health Partnership NHS Trust and the category was open to staff across the partnership.

Sirona’s contribution to the Integrated Care Bureau, an innovative approach to hospital discharge across Bristol, North Somerset and South Gloucestershire involving local authorities, hospitals, community providers and Commissioners was also recognised. This award was presented by Julia Ross, Chief Executive of the Bristol, North Somerset and South Gloucestershire Clinical Commissioning Group.

Chairman Simon Knighton opened the night’s proceedings saying: “Sirona has been awarded the contract for providing healthcare services across BNSSG from April 2020. We are so looking forward to welcoming our friends and colleagues from North Somerset Community Partnership and Bristol Community Health into the Sirona family.

“We know they will bring much richness, experience and expertise to help us on our journey over the next 10 years as we continue to play our part in the wider health and care system to make a real difference for the people we serve.”

Sirona’s Chief Executive Janet Rowse said: “Many of the nominations spoke about people going above and beyond not just within Sirona but across organisational boundaries and how our values are embedded in everything we do. You all make me so proud to be part of Sirona.” 

Simon added: “I am truly proud of everyone in Sirona so whether you received an award tonight or not you have my deepest admiration and respect for all that you do.” 

The night also saw a tribute to Sirona’s former non-executive director Dusty Walker, who died following a short illness. A new award was introduced in her memory which also recognised her passion for ensuring quality was the top of everyone’s agenda. The Dusty Walker Award for Quality Improvement was won by Jon Moore, an Emergency Care Practitioner and Clinical Quality Lead.

Sirona is committed to benefitting the community and Sue Bendall, administrator at Combe Lea Community Resource Centre in Midsomer Norton scooped the Contribution to the Community award for the creation of a Scarecrow Festival which attracted entries from people of all ages throughout the town.

The night was sponsored by Cordell Health, Galtec, Node 4, Ralph Allen Press and the Sirona Foundation.

Here are the full list of winners:

Colleague of the Year: Maggie Smith, Head of Payroll Services.

Highly Commended: Mike Atkins, IT and Elizabeth Hooper, Yate Minor Injuries Unit

Leadership Award: Sandra Hawkins, Hanham District Nursing Team.

Highly Commended: Rebecca Poulton, Podiatry/MSK Services, Claire Smith, Single Point of Access.

Team of the Year – two awards: Minor Injury Unit Yate and the Reception Teams at Kingswood and Patchway Hubs

Highly Commended: Cleeve Court Community Resource Centre, EMIS team, Payroll Team and Skylark Rehabilitation Unit.

Chief Executive’s Award for Taking it Personally: Emma Richards, Specialist Speech and Language Therapist.

Contribution to the Community: Sue Bendall, Combe Lea Community Resource Centre

Highly Commended:  Louise McMillan from the Community Learning Disabilities Team, Community Nurse Lucy Whiting and Community Paediatrician Dr Tamsin Woodbridge

Personal Development Award: Francesca Sabato from Patchway Clinic

Highly Commended: Heather Donald from the Severnvale Rehabilitation Team and Brittany Hunt from the corporate administration team.

Community Children’s Health Partnership: Debbie Clark, Operations Services Manager, Bristol Community Health.

Highly Commended: Geraldine Bates, Head of Children’s Services and Sarah Williams, physiotherapist, both with Bristol Community Health

Bank Worker Award: Donna Walker from the administration team at Yate.

Highly Commended: Katy May, Hanham District Nursing Team.

I Think They Deserve It Award – two awards: The Family Nurse Partnership and Ruth Grindrod from St John’s Court Extra Care in Bath.

Highly Commended: Kerli Vasli, Lifetime Service; Respiratory Team and community matron Di Williams.

Cordell Health & Wellbeing Award: Elizabeth Hooper, Yate Minor Injuries Unit

Highly Commended: Dominic Hardiman, Kingswood Locality; the Severnvale Community Rehab Team

The Dusty Walker Award for Quality Improvement: Jon Moore, Emergency Care Practitioner and Clinical Quality Lead.

Contribution to System Working: The Integrated Care Bureau Team – Jenny Theed, Cathy Daffada and the Integrated Discharge Team. 

The Chairman’s Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Organisation: Mike Owen, Head of Strategy, Programme Management and Planning, Business Development Team 

The night also featured a live digital vote for the best Sirona Scarecrow from the Combe Lea Festival of the Scarecrow which was won by “Hamm” created by the Payroll Team. 

Throughout the year the organisation recognise achievement with the award of Sirona Stars and the cermoney saw the presentation of badges – nominations can be made via this link

Winners this year so far were Henderson Rehabilitation Unit staff and project team, Katie Little from Children’s Services, Nicky Milosz from Combe Lea, Mike Atkins and Andrew Hunt from IT, Sara-Jayne Willetts from Leap Valley, Adele Fortuna, Children’s Services, Carl Laidlow and Tamsin Luck from Yate MIU and Carys-Iona Lant from the Learning Disability Service